Ken Roberts Is Country Music Hall Of Fame’s Newest Circle Guard Initiate

Ken Roberts Is Country Music Hall Of Fame's Newest Circle Guard Initiate

Pictured (L-R): Circle Guard members David Conrad, Jerry Williams and Mary Ann McCready; Delphine Roberts, the wife of Ken Roberts who accepted on his behalf; Emmylou Harris and Circle Guard members Kyle Young, Seab Tuck, Ken Levitan and Bill Denny. Photo: Courtesy of the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum

Ken Roberts has been appointed the newest initiate to the Country Music Hall Of Fame And Museum’s Circle Guard in recognition of his significant contributions to the museum.

Emmylou Harris announced the honor during an intimate luncheon on the CMA Theater stage at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum.

Roberts served on the museum’s board between 1996 and 2006, transitioning to Trustee Emeritus in 2016. When he served as president and CEO of the Frist Foundation, he guided the Frist Foundation’s 1997 leadership gift that helped make possible the museum’s move from Music Row to its current downtown location. That support also enabled the proper preservation and presentation of the Frist Library and Archive, which houses the museum’s collection of photography, sound recordings, films, periodicals, and more. An accomplished pianist, Roberts has also made crucial contributions to Nashville’s civic and cultural life for decades.

The Circle Guard celebrates individuals whose highest-level contributions of time, talent and treasure to the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum safeguard the integrity of country music and make it accessible to a global audience. The Circle Guard recognition ranks as the highest distinction afforded those benefactors who exhibit an unwavering commitment to the museum and its mission. This is the third year in which the Circle Guard’s ranks have expanded since the designation was introduced by Circle Guard Founder Steve Turner in 2018.

Each year, for the two weeks leading up to the Medallion Ceremony—which is the formal induction into the Country Music Hall of Fame for its three newest members—the Circle Guard members share the life stories of those celebrated in the Hall of Fame Rotunda by leading the Road to the Hall of Fame: Rite of Remembrance and Salute. The annual ceremony, open to all museum visitors and occurring daily for two weeks, pays tribute to each of the Country Music Hall of Fame’s yearly classes and their inducted members.

Roberts joins existing members David Conrad, Bill Denny, Ken Levitan, Mary Ann McCready, Mike Milom, Seab Tuck, Steve Turner, Jerry Williams and Kyle Young.

Latest posts by Lorie Hollabaugh (see all)

Source link