David Kitt shares ‘Wishing Well’ from upcoming ninth album

David Kitt shares 'Wishing Well' from upcoming ninth album

David Kitt has also announced a tour around Ireland and UK to celebrate new album, Idiot Check.

Phenomenal Kerry-based musician David Kitt has returned with the announcement of his new album, Idiot Check, via RE:WARM. On the upcoming LP is ‘Wishing Well,’ the third song on the tracklist.

“’Wishing Well’ is about being on the run from memories/your past and memories fading/morphing/appearing in dreams and asking yourself what are you running from exactly,” Kitt explains.

“Running from yourself or something other than yourself? Some ghostly spectre that you can’t really pinpoint. It’s also about the void left by the absence of religion/superstition and who we ‘blame’ or project things onto in that absence. The song explores where these two things overlap I guess.”

The song is a lo-fi, ambient spin on traditional folk music. It sets the expected experimental tone for the rest of the tracks in Idiot Check, which are expected to explore a range of not just genres, but socio-political topics too, like the absence of religion.

“‘Wishing Well’ relates to the void left by the decline of religious institutions and what we turn to in the absence of faith and superstition. These are the themes that recur throughout the record on both micro, personal levels and macro, societal levels. The record also explores the defiant necessity of the creative act against the backdrop of its apparent folly.”

Idiot Check drops March 31st, 2023. The 10-song LP is the artist’s ninth album, self-produced and recorded between 2016 and 2020 across Europe, in thrilling locations like Dublin, Paris, and the remote Ballinskelligs.

Kitt credits the beautiful Kerry haven as the “perfect environment” for writing.

“The lack of environmental noise and distractions, and being 30 seconds from the Atlantic Ocean all created the perfect environment to get the job done. It still continues to be a source of great inspiration, succour and the principal driving force in what’s been a genuine purple patch for me.”

Since the writing process began in 2016, Kitt reflects that “many of the songs were started in a pre-Covid world, but when Covid happened it gave the half-finished songs a new hue as if they were from some former version of reality, and this led to all sorts of creative inspiration that was quite unexpected.”

“The pandemic gave everything the quality of a remote dream that was somehow really healthy for my imagination.”

David Kitt by Neil J Smith.

Some of the themes of the album also focus on personal issues Kitt faced as a result of the pandemic.

“My partner had moved home to Australia and my intention had always been to follow her,” says Kitt, “but Covid completely changed the situation and unfortunately our relationship didn’t survive the pandemic. You can hear this in the lyrics I suppose, perhaps most obviously in ‘Wexford Strawberries’.”

Accompanying Kitt in his new LP is Dublin alt-pop band Soda Blonde’s drummer, Dylan Lynch for the ‘Wave of Peace.’ Katie Kim, a regular collaborator, covers the back-up vocals in several songs.

Finally, for the haunting track of ‘Oh Folly,’ Canadian singer-songwriter Mary Margaret O’Hara lends her voice.

The tracklist for Idiot Check is as follows:

1. Every Little Drop
2. Not So Soon
3. Wishing Well
4. All Folly
5. Its In Some Of Us
6. Leave Me Making
7. Wexford Strawberries
8. Till The End
9. Balances
10. Wave Of Peace

Tour Dates:

February 27 – LONDON Union Chapel


01 – CORK Opera House*

02 – WEXFORD National Opera House*

04 – DUBLIN National Concert Hall*

05  – DUBLIN National Concert Hall*

07 – LONDON Union Chapel*

31 – CARDIFF Clwb Ifor Bach


01 – BOURNEMOUTH Bad Hand Warehouse

02 – BIRMINGHAM Hare & Hounds


04 – LEEDS Headrow House

05 – NEWCASTLE Cluny 2

06 – EDINBURGH Sneaky Petes

07 – GLASGOW Nice N Sleazy

15 – DUBLIN Whelans

20 – GALWAY Roisin Dubh

21 – CORK Coughlans

22 – WATERFORD Electric Avenue

23 – DUNDALK Spirit Store

29 – BELFAST The Duncairn

30 – DERRY Echo Echo Dance


05 – LEAP Connollys

06 –  KILKENNY Cleeres

11 – BRISTOL The Love Inn

12 – BRIGHTON The Great Escape

13 – BRIGHTON The Great Escape

14 – SHEFFIELD The Yellow Arch

17 – LONDON Jazz Cafe

27 –  BALLYCOTTON Sea Church